Understanding how your council works

Understanding how your council works

Worcestershire has 2 tiers of local government the county council and then district, borough and city councils.

Who is responsible for which services in the County?

The County Council is responsible for services across the whole of a county, such as:

  • education
  • transport
  • planning
  • fire and public safety
  • social care
  • libraries
  • waste management
  • trading standards

Our district, borough and city councils

They cover a smaller area than the county council. They are responsible for services such as:

  • rubbish collection
  • recycling
  • Council Tax collections
  • housing
  • planning applications

Contact your district council

Was this page useful?