New Cabinet Team to Lead County Council

Published date
News category
The Council
Simon Geraghty preferred image

The Leader of Worcestershire County Council, Councillor Simon Geraghty, has announced changes to his top team from today, Thursday 9 May 2024.

Councillor Geraghty said: “I have today made changes to my Cabinet team to support me, and the wider Council, to deliver on the ambitious agenda we have to improve the Council and the County of Worcestershire.

“With three new members, and with most other areas of responsibility changing, the refreshed Cabinet will enable a renewed focus on our priorities and promises laid out in our Corporate Plan: Shaping Worcestershire’s Future, with an opportunity to inject some new ideas, whilst ensuring we have the right blend of skills and experience from across the county within the team.

“Here in Worcestershire we have a One Cabinet, One Worcestershire approach. This means that whilst each portfolio has a lead that becomes an expert in that area, big decisions about the future of the Council, within any portfolio, are made collectively as a Cabinet.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Adrian Hardman for his long-standing service to Cabinet, as he steps down from his position of Adult Social Care lead to concentrate on his health and recovery. I’d also like to thank Tracey Onslow, who has done a fantastic job in the role as lead for Education as she moves forward to become the Conservative Group’s nomination for County Council Chairman and Mike Rouse in his role as lead for Highways and Transport who has requested to step back for personal reasons. Their significant contributions to the Cabinet and commitment to their portfolios have enabled many key projects and improvements to be delivered across the County, for which I am very grateful.

“I am pleased to welcome Emma Stokes, David Chambers and David Ross to the Cabinet and look forward to working closely with them as part of the wider Cabinet team to deliver on things that matter the most to our residents and businesses.

“Marcus Hart will remain as the Deputy Leader and I look forward to continuing to work with him in this key position in my leadership team.”

The Cabinet appointments announced are:

  •  Leader of the Council and with responsibility for Finance – Councillor Simon Geraghty
  •  Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Corporate Services and  Communications – Councillor Marcus Hart
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Education – Councillor David Chambers
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Highways and Transport – Councillor Marc Bayliss
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Adult Social Care – Councillor Richard Morris
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for the Environment – Councillor Emma Stokes
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Children and Families – Councillor Steve Mackay 
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Health and Wellbeing – Councillor David Ross
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Communities  – Councillor Karen May
  •  Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Economy and Skills – Councillor Adam Kent

Councillor Emma Stokes was elected to Evesham South Division of Worcestershire County Council in 2021 and has represented Bengeworth on Wychavon District Council for over 20 years. She is also the Customer Services Portfolio Holder at Wychavon, a role she has had for over 10 years and has been the Chair of Corporate & Communities Overview and Scrutiny Panel at the County Council for the last 2 years.

Previous environmental and engineering portfolios have provided Councillor Stokes with the experience and enthusiasm needed to be the Cabinet Member for Environment at Worcestershire County Council. Outside of politics, Emma runs her own bookkeeping business and enjoys walking her dog, Karlah, around Evesham.

Councillor David Chambers was elected to Worcestershire County Council in 2021 having previously served as a District Councillor in Malvern Hills for 8 years, including 2 years as its Leader. David has a passion for education at all levels, vocational and academic, and strives for the best standards to enable every child to reach their full potential. He has spent most of his professional career working in education which has included 3 years lecturing in Fiji as part of Britain’s Aid Programme following Independence and for 2 years was employed by the U.N., training government employees in Burma.

David has also been a magistrate and held positions in both the Adult and Youth Courts for 10 years, retiring as Deputy Chairman of the Bench. In his spare time, David enjoys spending time with his family and 2 granddaughters.

Councillor David Ross first entered local government politics by standing for election to the newly formed Kidderminster Town Council in 2016, serving as Mayor from 2019-2020 and becoming its first ever Leader, a role he has held since 2021. David has represented St Barnabas division in Kidderminster on Worcestershire County Council since May 2021 and in November that year was duly elected in the Franche & Habberley North ward by-election of Wyre Forest District Council and continues to serve.

David semi-retired three years ago having previously worked in the leisure industry and in his spare time supports a number of charities, is a fair-weather gardener and is an avid traveller.