Essential maintenance to our online payments system

Cabinet changes for County Council announced ahead of Corporate Plan launch

Members of the Cabinet with their titles. Published Monday, 16th May 2022

The Leader of Worcestershire County Council, Councillor Simon Geraghty, has announced changes to his top team from Monday 16 May.

The changes to Cabinet are in line with launch of the County Council’s refreshed Corporate Plan which sets out its plans for Shaping Worcestershire’s Future from 2022-2027.

The refreshed Corporate Plan is being discussed at the next Full Council meeting on May 19 after which point it should be adopted.

Councillor Geraghty said: “With our refreshed Corporate Plan for the County being launched this week, now is the right time to make changes to my top team and wider Scrutiny roles to ensure the delivery of our ambitious plan to shape Worcestershire’s future.

“The refreshed Cabinet will enable a renewed focus on our priorities with an opportunity to inject some new ideas, whilst ensuring we have the right blend of experience within the team. It will also enable some changes to be made to Scrutiny arrangements at our Council AGM.

“I would like to take this opportunity thank Alan Amos, Tony Miller and Matt Dormer for the significant contribution they have made to the Cabinet and ‘above and beyond’ commitment to their portfolios, as they move to take up important Member roles within the County Council.

“I am pleased to welcome Tracey Onslow, Richard Morris and Mike Rouse to the Cabinet and look forward to working closely with them as part of the wider Cabinet team to deliver on things that matter the most to our residents and businesses.

“I would also like to thank Adrian Hardman for his support and commitment as Deputy Leader over the last five years as he steps down from the role.

“Marcus Hart will assume the Deputy Leader role and I look forward to working with him in this key position in my leadership team.

”I am really excited about the launch of the refreshed Corporate Plan and with it our new Cabinet to help us deliver on our commitments set out in the Plan.”

The Cabinet appointments announced are:

  • Leader of the Council and with responsibility for Finance – Councillor Simon Geraghty
  • Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member with Responsibility (CMR) for Communities – Councillor Marcus Hart
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Education – Councillor Tracey Onslow
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Highways and Transport – Councillor Mike Rouse
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Adult Social Care – Councillor Adrian Hardman
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for the Environment – Councillor Richard Morris
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Children and Families – Councillor Andy Roberts
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Health and Well Being – Councillor Karen May
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Corporate Services and Communications – Councillor Adam Kent
  • Cabinet Member with Responsibility for Economy, Infrastructure and Skills – Councillor Marc Bayliss

Councillor Tracey Onslow joins the Cabinet as Cabinet Member (CMR) for Education following her role as Deputy Police and Crime Commissioner for the last 6 years. Tracey is born and grew up in Worcestershire and has 15 years' experience in local government, including several Cabinet portfolios on Wyre Forest District Council.

Councillor Mike Rouse, who joins the Cabinet as CMR for Highways and Transport, has most recently been Chair of the Council’s Corporate and Communities Scrutiny Panel. Mike brings a wealth of life experience from a number of roles including for the NHS, the Skills sector and private enterprise. In addition, he brings his talents in innovation and problem solving, picked up from his training as a software engineer and coder. 

Councillor Richard Morris joins the Cabinet as CMR for Environment following many years spent in industry and senior positions covering Marketing, Operations and Organisation improvement. Richard has been teaching for the past 12 years in Further Education and Universities and has been on Wychavon’s Executive Board for 9 years and Deputy Leader for 4 years.

Councillor Marcus Hart takes on the Deputy Leader role alongside responsibilities for the Communities portfolio. Marcus is a Solicitor by profession and been a County Councillor since 2005 and has served in a number of Cabinet roles since 2009. Marcus has also been a member of Wyre Forest District Council since 2002 and a former Leader.

Councillor Marc Bayliss is also taking on responsibility for the wider Strategic Transport projects and Local Transport Plan as part of his new Economy, Infrastructure & Skills portfolio.