County Council elections

Past results

2019 elections: Bromsgrove south division

View the election results - Bromsgrove south division - Autumn 2019

2017 County Council elections

County Council elections were held on Thursday 4 May 2017, with the count taking place on Friday 5 May 2017.

There are 52 Electoral Divisions in the County and 57 Councillors were elected.

Two councillors were returned for each of the four divisions in the Redditch area and for the Stourport-on-Severn division. The remaining divisions returned one councillor.

Please note that any comparisons that are made between the new Council and the previous Council are made on the basis of actual election results only and not any changes in political party affiliation that were made during the life of the Council.

Results by party

A table showing the number of seats won by each party

Results by party
Political Party Seats
Conservative 40
Green Party 2
Independent 1
Independent Community & Health Concern 1
Labour 7
Labour & Co-Operative Party 3
Liberal Democrat 3

Overall County votes summary by Party

Electorate: 440152

Overall County votes summary by Party
Political party Party votes Percentage
British Resistance 50 0.03%
Conservative 82400 46.85%
Green Party 11862 6.74%
Independent 5302 3.01%
Independent Community & Health Concern 4476 2.54%
Labour 36560 20.79%
Labour & Co-Operative Party 3675 2.09%
Liberal Democrat 20475 11.64%
No Party Stated 276 0.16%
UK Independence Party (UKIP) 9778 5.56%
Women`s Equality Party 66 0.04%
Wythall Residents' Association 970 0.55%
Total Votes 175890 N/A
Ballot Paper Issued 153202 N/A
Spoilt 41 N/A
Turnout (%) 34.81% N/A

Arrow Valley east division elections 2014

Peter James Bridle (UK Independence Party UKIP) has been announced as the newly elected County Councillor in the Arrow Valley East division following a by-election 22 May 2014. A total of 5,745 votes were received out of an eligible electorate of 17,249. This represents an overall turnout of 33%.

St Mary's elections 2013

The St Mary's by-election was held on 1 August 2013. Mr Nathan John Desmond of the Conservative Party was elected with 504 votes.

Stourport on Severn elections 2013

The Stourport-on-Severn by-election (to elect one County Councillor) was held on 27th June, 2013.  Mr John William Roland Thomas of Independent Community and Health Concern was elected with 1055 votes.

County Council elections 2013